Kiss My Grits

No matter how many times I hear, “I hate grits.” I am really always baffled.  I usually chalk it up to they just haven’t had good grits.

Southern girl guide to grits made simple.

grits= 4 times the amount water

1/2 cup of grits= 2 cups of water.

Bring 2 cups of water and 1/4 teaspoon of salt to a boil. Whisk in 1/2 cup of grits. Stir and turn down to low heat. I usually switch to a smaller eye and turn down lowest setting.  If you are having company, you can make a double boiler and stick the pot in hot water.  It will last hours, always check on them and simply add water if they get too thick.

After about ten minutes, check on the grits, give them a quick whisk, taste and add more salt if needed. Now this is the best trick. You can add anything you want to make creamy grits, my preference is a little half and half and butter.  You can use anything, cheese, cream cheese, butter, milk, half and half. All of these or one.  If you like a little spicy, I love to add a dash of cayenne pepper too.  Be creative, if you are making shrimp and grits, add some shredded parmesan.  Some people add pepper, but I really like to keep my grits creamy white, so I add pepper at the table. Best served with crispy bacon and eggs over easy!

Try it, you’ll like it.

About poprockphotography

I'm a globe trottin' Southern gal residing in Charlotte, NC, who will hit the road to document your wedding. My photography style is offbeat and colorful. I like to capture people in their own element and most importantly, have them like what they see. Poprock Photography, modern photography for the budget minded.
This entry was posted in grits, southern food, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Kiss My Grits

  1. You bet I’ll kiss your grits, girl! Delicious!

  2. It’s true grits are the best. I wish I had time to make some right now. I make mine with cream cheese and jalapeno.

  3. MamaBear says:

    I am with ya sister… Grits are GOOD!! With a little maple syrup and butter in the morning. I love them with the cream cheese and spicy chili sauce. The best 10 minute comfort meal!!

  4. I have not met a grit I don’t love. And you had me at the picture with the butter!

  5. Mark says:

    Yum. Makes me feel like I’m in the south. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

