Eggs Made of the Devil

Deviled eggs make me very happy and not the frou frou, newfangled kind. The basic family recipe, cover dish, church social kind of deviled eggs. 

Simple recipe that follow no strict rules, if you want more mustard or mayo or pickles, add whatever you like, do what you like.

My family recipe is Duke’s mayonnaise of course, mustard, pickles…. while growing up it was strictly sweet relish as I got older and could make my own rules, I prefer, chopping my own bread and butter, dill, sweet, capers, all or just one, whatever I feel. Because I am grown, I can do what I want! 

Some tips I have learned along the way.   First of all, if you know you are making eggs, it’s best to use eggs that have been in your fridge a week.  Hard boil your eggs, crack eggs and let rest in cool water, peel and take the trash out.  Cut eggs in half, put yolks in bowl and smash each one with a fork, add salt, pepper, dash of hot sauce, mayo, mustard and pickle mixture. Do not go overboard with mayo and mustard, you must have the perfect firm consistency, it does not need to be gloopy. Scrape bowl with rubber spatula and fill in a Ziploc bag or pastry bag, with or without tip, cut the end and squeeze contents in eggs.  I like to salt and pepper my egg whites too, if you want the eggs to be pretty, only sprinkle salt, then add paprika and pepper on top after filling.

Now if you want to get fancy, go ahead top with hot peppers, olives, sliced pickled okra, fresh bacon crumbles, blue cheese, what ever your heart desires, but simple deviled eggs are always better than any of  the latest greatest fancy addition. Trust me, I am a girl from the South.

About poprockphotography

I'm a globe trottin' Southern gal residing in Charlotte, NC, who will hit the road to document your wedding. My photography style is offbeat and colorful. I like to capture people in their own element and most importantly, have them like what they see. Poprock Photography, modern photography for the budget minded.
This entry was posted in deviled eggs, southern food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Eggs Made of the Devil

  1. I am a purist too–I have never had a fancy deviled egg worth its weight in mayo (and I like to chop my bread and butter pickles too–wonder if I got that from you?).

    However, I saw this video recently and I’m going to try some pimento cheese in my eggs some time–maybe for a fancy tea party. I think these have potential. But I will add jalapeno to mine. I will report back. Or maybe invite you to the tea party.

Leave a Reply

