Cafe International

It’s Tuesday and you know I love Tuesdays because I go out to lunch with my friend Julia S. We set out today, coffee at Central, we shared a lovely French press of Ethiopian. Who knew that would set the tone for our day.

She thumbed through the Citypass book for our coupon lunch extravaganza. She mentioned, Mez for small plates, Cantina 1511 for honky mexican food, before finally settling for Jaipur Indian restaurant.  Yay, I can always eat Indian and a coupon to boot, I am very excited.

So we jump in my ride and chattycathy mentions she wants to eat at International Cafe on Monroe, she says the parking lot is always packed with cabs out front. You know what this means?  Nix coupon, and head to Monroe Road. I can’t resist.

We go in this shady little spot, no customers, seems like an evening place. It’s a menu of Italian and Ethiopian, pretty darn bizarre, but they are friendly and welcoming.  We agree on the Ethiopian veggie plate and decide to share. We were going to order vegetarian lasagna too, but they didn’t have it.

It takes a little while and I can hear his little wife clanging and banging in the kitchen, they bring out this beautiful plate, I don’t know what everything is called by name, but it’s pretty consistent of veggie dishes I’ve had at other restaurants. A lentil mush mix, potato, carrot and onion mix and greens. Always served on injera bread, weird dull purplish color, spongy bread. I hear in Charlotte that one woman makes it for all the restaurants.  Everything is flavorful and has a little underlying heat.  No forks you have to eat with your hands, it’s fun and delicious.

It turned out to be a great lunch and now we know why so many cabbies, some of the family are cab drivers too, it’s their cars. That’s funny.  I love Ethiopian food and I have been craving it for two weeks, so I was a happy camper.  Now if I can just get focused on using the coupon book.

About poprockphotography

I'm a globe trottin' Southern gal residing in Charlotte, NC, who will hit the road to document your wedding. My photography style is offbeat and colorful. I like to capture people in their own element and most importantly, have them like what they see. Poprock Photography, modern photography for the budget minded.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cafe International

  1. I can’t wait to come to Charlotte and play with you and Julia S. (or as I like to call her, Julia Guglia). After I get a get a job so I can return to my rock ‘n’ roll lifestyle.

Leave a Reply

