I Hate the Holidays.

Please do not report me to the authorities and I hate to be such a crabapple, but I hate Christmas.  I am really an optimistic person, I understand you get what you put out, but for the life of me, I cannot self talk myself into this Christmas business.  The Christmas music playing in retail outlets on Halloween is what gets me started and doesn’t end till New Year’s Day and TA-DA! It’s New Year’s Day, I am back to the good ole, the sun always shines in my world, unicorns and rainbows etc.

However, I love New Year’s Day, today is always a special day for me. I like the whole relaxed vibe, it feels like a weekend day no matter what day of the week it falls on.  Champagne flows freely sometime after or during coffee. Black eye peas in the crock pot, collards on the stove. Jalapeno muffins in the oven.  My only worry is, if there is pepper vinegar made in the fridge.  This is how life should be..

My dad’s recipe for jalapeno cornbread:

In a bowl mix corn meal, dab of flour, onion, salt, egg, butter, milk, water, shredded cheddar, jalapeno, oil and a can of cream corn.  Don’t be stingy with the fat, you need it for the muffins to be moist.

Oil your cast iron skillet with veggie oil and preheat skillet in oven. Let me repeat this, preheat your skillet in the oven.  You can find six pack muffin cast iron skillets at kitchen stores, Target and Asian markets. So handy and cute.

Take hot pan out of oven, fill with mixture and bake and yes, Virginia, there is no Santa Claus, serve with more fat. BUTTER! and Champagne. Cheers and Happy New Year, holidays are officially over!

About poprockphotography

I'm a globe trottin' Southern gal residing in Charlotte, NC, who will hit the road to document your wedding. My photography style is offbeat and colorful. I like to capture people in their own element and most importantly, have them like what they see. Poprock Photography, modern photography for the budget minded.
This entry was posted in southern food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Hate the Holidays.

  1. Sherry Robbins says:

    Bah ! Humbug? Now tell me why anyone would hate Christmas? After all, it’s that wonderful time of the year, when it’s cold outside, and the unemployment rate is the highest. It’s when dysfunctional families can get together and wonder why Uncle Bob is just as drunk as he was the day before? I mean , come on, ya gotta buy Aunt Thelma a present – after all, you haven’t laid eyes on her in five years. Better yet, go to Walmart, and stand in line for about two hours. It’s usually filled with overly tired kids and stressed out parents. Gotta buy that ugly sweater though, after all it is the right thing to do. Who cares if you’re losing your house, and your car…by golly, it’s Christmas time….oh, by the way.. don’t forget to leave the cookies out for Santa’s fat ass.

  2. Brent Harsh says:

    The NYD food shots look great, Tonya! Yum! I’ve got a whole fridge drawer full of fresh collards, maybe you’ve inspired me to go cook’em before they go bad. Had several folks posting about black-eyed-peas and collards today, guess even after 22 years in the south I didn’t know that was a new years’ tradition! Have a great 2012!

Leave a Reply

