We Will Drink No Wine Before It’s Time

In my former life, I worked as a wine consultant in a high-end grocery store.  It was a great job, we would take education trips to Bordeaux and Italy.  Pretty darn nice.  What was really special about the job, were all the great wines we had access to.  There’s something really special about drinking limited wines or really old wines and drinking with the actual family members or wine makers.  You get used to this lifestyle pretty darn quick.

I still keep my toes in the water, waiting tables one day a week in a wine shop.  Last night we had our employee holiday party.  We all brought a bottle or two of wine.  I had a 1966 Bordeaux that I wanted to save for my husband’s birthday.  Well, husband was out of town on said birthday, so I pried it out of his hands and took it to the restaurant last night.

I opened it up, step by step as the cork crumbled, I managed ok, considering, it was my first time opening a really old cork, I see how I would go about it differently next time. But only a little bit fell in. I took a whiff of the wine and I could not believe that it was sound.  I didn’t know how it had been stored all these years, I have only had it for about two years.  I should have taken notes last night, because we drank a lot and I really have no words.  If I had to write something….. it was light in color, showing it’s age.  It reminded me of a dusty book at a yard sale, something about it makes you want to take a peek.  I was amazed that it was still very drinkable.  I am a firm believer of opening special wines.  I love to make everyday special.

About poprockphotography

I'm a globe trottin' Southern gal residing in Charlotte, NC, who will hit the road to document your wedding. My photography style is offbeat and colorful. I like to capture people in their own element and most importantly, have them like what they see. Poprock Photography, modern photography for the budget minded.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to We Will Drink No Wine Before It’s Time

  1. I love the word “sound” describing a glass of wine – it implies surprise and inspires curiosity. Hot.

Leave a Reply

