Tabouli, bouli.

I waited tables in a vegetarian, non smoking restaurant way before it was mandatory.  Some people would come in, we would have to explain what lemon tahini is and tabouli, bean burgers and other things the restaurant owner would make up and call it crazy names.  I was a little flippant, my standard answer for tabouli was, “do you know the phrase, if you have to ask you can’t afford it? If you don’t know what tabouli is, you don’t want it.”  They would look at me puzzled, so then I would say, “it’s cracked bulghar wheat, parsley and then they would stop me and say, :OK, I’ll have the chips.”  Too funny now, I LOVE tabouli!  I can’t get enough of  it.  Sometimes I get the craving and I just start chopping up parsley!

Easy tabouli recipe is bulghar wheat, put equal parts boiling water and bulghar in a bowl, stir and cover.  Rest for 30 minutes.

Finely chop, parsley, red onion, mint, cucumber and tomatoes. Add to  bulghar, salt, pepper and a squeeze of fresh lemon.  Ready to eat!  I can’t eat tabouli without thinking of that crazy restaurant.

About poprockphotography

I'm a globe trottin' Southern gal residing in Charlotte, NC, who will hit the road to document your wedding. My photography style is offbeat and colorful. I like to capture people in their own element and most importantly, have them like what they see. Poprock Photography, modern photography for the budget minded.
This entry was posted in tabouli and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tabouli, bouli.

  1. kim says:

    Sold. You know, I make it in the summer, but I always start with the box and then add to it. I think you have me convinced that I can step up to the hard stuff! Thanks for the inspiration (and the step by step).

  2. Mmmmmm, I could eat pounds of this. Have. Will.

  3. bekkah says:

    I used to love tabouli, but I can no longer eat bulgar wheat…I’ve heard you can use quinoa as an alternative, but I haven’t experimented with that yet. After reading this, I’m going to have to give it a shot very soon!!

Leave a Reply

